Haviland Telephone 2012 Scholarships Awarded to Exceptional Students

Haviland Telephone Company is proud to announce the awardees of its 2012 Scholarships.  As Many as six $250 scholarships are awarded annually to high school graduates whose parents or guardians are customers of Haviland Telephone Company.

This year’s recipients are: Austin Phillips of Conway Springs, Rebecca Lynn Stillwell of Nashville, Jordan Wyrick of Haviland, Natali Goertzen of Argonia, and Kaitlin Nellene Henson of Argonia.

In addition, Montana Bailey of Sawyer, Kansas, was awarded $1000 from the Foundation for Rural Education and Development (FRED) through her nomination by Haviland Telephone Company.  FRED awarded $76,000 in scholarships to some of the most outstanding students rural America has to offer.  A total of 52 students were selected to receive scholarships from the organization.  Close to 200 applicants applied to this program this year.  Montana, a graduate Medicine Lodge High School, plans to attend Bethany College in the fall.

FRED is a national 501(c)(3) charitable foundation located in Washington, D.C., and was founded in 1989 by the Organization for the Promotion and Advancement of Small Telecommunications Companies (OPASTCO).  The mission of FRED and its supporters is to promote educational, social and economic development in rural America and Canada.  Only OPASTCO member companies are eligible to nominate a student.

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Please note that all comments on the Haviland News Site must follow the guidelines outlined in the blog policy. All comments will be moderated prior to appearing on the blog. This is important to prevent spam and personal attacks. If posting a comment about a specific customer service problem or personal account issue, please contact us here.